Chesterfield Civic Society

The society and its members are dedicated to:

  • Preserving buildings, monuments and places of natural beauty.
  • Regenerating life in town centres and utilising urban wasteland.
  • Encouraging good architecture and town planning by vigilant examination of proposals.
  • Criticising, discouraging and opposing the destruction of amenities, bad planning and vulgarity in design.
  • Co-operating with local authorities and organisations with similar aims – local, regional and national.
  • Protecting civic amenities
  • Encouraging a sense of citizenship and pride in our town and district.


Chairman: Bryan Thompson
Address: 672, Chatsworth Road, CHESTERFIELD, S40 3NU
Telephone: 01246 566211

Treasurer: Frank Gorman
Address: 70 Duke’s Drive, CHESTERFIELD, S41 8QE.
Telephone: 01246 235651

Meetings are normally held at 19.30pm on the second Tuesday of the month in the Eyre Chapel